University of Oxford

tem11

Anyone else attending Oxford in the fall? I'll be studying for the MPhil in Evidence Based Social Intervention. No word on what college I'll be at yet but it'd be nice to hear from other students who are UK bound!

Anyone? :).

Haven't decided just yet, but if I go there I'll be studying for a DPhil in statistics and belong to St. Catz college (if I'm not moved, I don't know how that goes).

Well, I probably would be going there for a DPhil in maths, were it not for the lousy funding opportunities. I'm a non-EU european student and most of the scholarships seem to be reserved for people from developing countries (or their descendants). However, I might be able to scrape together some money.

I have a fully funded offer from a very good university in the states, so I'm not too upset.

• 5 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 7 months later...

I'll be at St Edmund Hall :)

Hey again, just found you here too! St. Edmund Hall sounds good! How are you liking it? Did you hear about the funding at the same time you heard about the college decision? And if you don't mind me asking, what was the main scholarship you applied for? I'll await your response. :)

Edited by feminist21

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Fellows! I'm accepted to St. Cross College. Does anyone have any insider information about St. Cross' college accommodation? My budget for accommodation is £500/pm (including bills). Would I find better deals in private lettings? I personally found college accomodation at St Cross pricy, considering that you'll need to share bathroom with on average 3-6 people. But again it may be worse in private let. Also, what are the differences between a catagory 1* and a category 1 room? I don't think I can afford a Cat. 1* room but I'd like to know if it's worth the money. Are Cat. 2,3,4 rooms filthy? I really don't mind a small room, but it must be clean and well-maintained.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Edited by Peanut

Hey!