Astrophysics

Aymee

My husband has a very good job in IT (Citrix Network Administrator, also does some programming--not his official job title, but he's better than some of the official programmers at his work.) He's self-taught, does not have a college degree. I'm applying to grad school now, and will be done in 3-5 years. With a Master's degree, I'll have tons of debt and still only be making about 70% of what he makes now. Although he's got a great job currently, his heart's desire is really to be an astrophysicist.

We were planning for him to go to school in the evenings the same time I'm in grad school, to at least get his AA, possibly him BA by the time I graduate. But I'm wondering if this is the best path, or if he should just get his AA at Community College and wait to finish the last couple years of the BA until I can support him and he can either quit or work PT while going to school and concentrating more fully on his school, to have a better chance of getting into a good grad school program.

We don't know much about the process, both of us have blue-collar backgrounds and I'm currently experiencing these "oh... hindsight is 20/20" and "wow, wish I knew that 4 years ago..." sorts of feelings when it comes to my grad school. (I'd never heard of fellowships or stipends until late in my senior year of college for instance.) I don't want to make the same mistakes with his school.

What kinds of things should he be doing as an undergrad in order to be a better candidate? (We don't have the option of moving right now, so his choice of schools is limited to Olympia/Tacoma and MAYBE Seattle area.)

Thanks.

• 2 years later...

(I realize that I'm bumping a very old thread here.)