For Ecology & Evolution people, past and present!

anselmo1

Seems that many of the bio discussions here are geared towards, or populated by the Molecular/Neuro folks, which is fine, but I'd love to see a thread dedicated in particular to the applications, concerns and ideas of the EEB crowd, past and present.

I'm a junior at the University of Kansas majoring in Organismal Biology. I haven't taken the GRE yet, but I'll intend to do it in the summer of 2011 and apply that fall for a possible fall 2012 entry. My GPA is 3.3 now and I'm trying to raise it at least to 3.5. I have some research experience in an animal behavior lab, and I'll try to work in another lab or two in the next three semesters.

My research interests include social evolution, eusociality, social insects, mathematical modeling of social behavior and population dynamics, with a hint of systematics mixed in. Some of the schools I'm going to apply include Rice, Texas, Tufts, Louisville and Harvard.

So, EEB people, join the monologue! :)

Check out Notre Dame.. I'm heading there for the fall and EEB is a huge growing presence in th department.. They are bringing in several new faculty in the area. I know of at least one great insect behavior prof --> look at Belovsky he does some really interesting stuff out on land notre dame has at the national bison range. They have great field sites through a program called UNDEREC with a site to do insect work in Puerto Rico too. Stipends are generous and cost of living I low. Placement into top ten program for postdoctoral positions is quite common as well.

Seems that many of the bio discussions here are geared towards, or populated by the Molecular/Neuro folks, which is fine, but I'd love to see a thread dedicated in particular to the applications, concerns and ideas of the EEB crowd, past and present.