Operations Research? Anyone?

orgirl

I feel so lonely when I see everyone else applying for Humanities or Engineering. When I did a search of the forum, the last people who posted about OR were a couple of years ago. So did anyone else apply for OR? Or do OR people just like to lurk?

• Replies 243
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've got to be honest, I don't even know what Operations Research is.

:oops: I guess it's not really well known. In layman's terms, operations research is applying analytical and mathematical tools to make better decisions. This applies to varied fields such as finance, manufacturing, telecommunications, etc. In essence, you just try to maximize something (such as profit).

Yes, I did. But I applied in Canada, where I'm from, so I'm probably not much help to anyone here.

ORgirl, what's your academic background if you don't mind me asking?

I finished my bachelors in Singapore. After which, I did my Masters in MIT in Computation for Design and Optimization (CDO).

• 4 weeks later...

Umm, obviously you know lots about Operation Research... How different is Systems engineering? Are these two disciplines the same? I am planning to do a Systems Engineering + ORIE track @Cornell, and I'm not sure if it really is the same degree as a OR student, say, from Columbia.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 9 months later...

I love operations research. I'm applying for a masters in industrial engineering with a specialization in OR right now. No one ever talks about it so I'm assuming it is a rather unknown field. I have no idea how to gauge my chances because I have no one to compare to, which is annoying.

Guys, JUST got admitted by Cornell, ORIE M.eng on 2/3

But honestly, I'm dying to wait for the other programs like MIT or Columbia

Does anyone here got admitted by other OR programs?

Did you apply for MS or PhD?

I applied PhD, no news yet...

Orange,

which universities did you apply? Any results so far?