MSc or PhD in Biostatistics for industry?

Hi everyone,

I am currently a master student of Bioinformatics, GPA 8.9/10.0. I come from an applied statistics background (psychonomics). Besides the basic elements of bioinformatics, the focus of my master has been on machine learning, algorithm's and biostatistics. After work experience in a biotech company, I have decided to move into the direction of biostatistics. I want to work at a pharmaceutical company/cro, conduct clinical trials and progress to a manager/director function. The level of mathematics/statistics I have obtained is not sufficient to confidently perform analyses in a clinical setting yet. I therefore have two options, earn a(nother) master in biostatistics, or do a phd. A phd would cost me four years, a master only one and a half. Taking into account my goals, what do you suggest? A phd will give me a more solid theoretical background, but I sometimes get the feeling a phd is not valued by industry. What is your guy's take on this?

Hope you can help!

Regards

Edited by AtlasShrugged

• 2 weeks later...

Hi everyone,