Madison, WI

enoksrd

I am considering U Wisconsin. I would be interested to hear anything people have to say about the city, and in particular, I would be interested to know what the cost of living is like. I have been offered TA support, which will be about $11,200 or $12,500, depending on whether or not the TAA nogotiate a raise. According to the grad school web site, this is a few thousand less than the estimated cost of living. What is the cost of living for grad students living there now? If you aren't picky, is there reasonably priced housing near campus? Also, I have been told it is a great bike city, but how does that work in the winter when its 10F and there is snow everywhere?

Thanks!

I'm a current grad student at UWM, and I am somewhat familar with Madison as well.

Madison is fairly inexpensive to live in, depending on your standards. There are a lot of older student housing neighborhoods with apartments/flats/houses in poor condition, but low cost. I guess it mostly depends on your tolerance for roommates, poor conditions, and proximity to campus.

Speaking of, you almost need to have a bicycle in Madison, and the city is VERY bike friendly. The campus is very spread out, which isn't usually a great concern for grad students, unless you're doing multi-disciplinary work. They also have a bus system (which is used mostly by late night drunks). Biking in the winter can be tough, but it is definitely doable. Wisconsin is well prepared for snow removal and generally keeps the roads/paths clear.

If you have other questions about Madison or Milwaukee, feel free to ask!

Could anyone comment on the social life and/or "feel" of Madison? What's around the city of Madison? I'm used to the urban grit of the Mid-Atlantic (New Brunswick to be exact) and I am flying to WI at the end of the month, but any input would still be appreciated.

Anonymous said: