"Non-Traditional" Grad School Applicants

decoder

It's hard to believe I've been out of school long enough to consider myself a "non-traditional applicant," but after reading the other posts in this forum I get the sense that I'm a bit beyond the average age. I'd love to hear from others who are in a similar situation, and get to know what kinds of issues you are dealing with as you're trying to apply to grad school.

As for my own story, I'm thirty years old and hope to pursue a Ph.D. in electrical/computer engineering. I have a masters degree and two bachelors degrees from a relatively average state school, and while I did very well in classes, had teaching experience, and worked at a job most of the way through college, I never had a chance to do academic research. As the first person in my family to graduate from college, I didn't even know what grad school was until I was in college. I applied to Ph.D. programs when I was finishing my M.S. five years ago, but I aimed too high and was disappointed by mostly rejections. I decided to work for a while to save some money and get some experience.

Now, I have a wife, a house, and a decent job in my field, but I still want the Ph.D. and I still want to be in a more research-oriented role. I'm re-taking the GRE next month, and I plan to apply to mostly local schools this coming fall. Once the GRE is out of the way, I've got to get recommendation letters (from whom?), write a statement of purpose, possibly take the CS subject GRE, and all the while hope that my work experience somehow makes up for my lack of publications and academic research.