Is 30 too late to start a PhD?

stacktrace

Question

I had an interview a couple of days ago and the professor mentioned that I am older than most of their applicants. I had to explain that I did not waste my time after I graduated and all. I am 30 now and I want to start a PhD in one of California's top schools (Stanford, Berkeley, UCSD, Caltech.. ) in biomedical informatics. I was just wondering if the adcomms from those universities put so much importance on your age. Is 30 already too late to start a PhD? I don't see it that way, but I would like to hear other people's opinions.

I had an interview a couple of days ago and the professor mentioned that I am older than most of their applicants. I had to explain that I did not waste my time after I graduated and all. I am 30 now and I want to start a PhD in one of California's top schools (Stanford, Berkeley, UCSD, Caltech.. ) in biomedical informatics. I was just wondering if the adcomms from those universities put so much importance on your age. Is 30 already too late to start a PhD? I don't see it that way, but I would like to hear other people's opinions.

No, it's definetely not too late. Have a look at this thread:

I strongly disagree. My aunt started her PhD at 36 in molecular medicine, graduated in 4.5 years, and made her way to tenure after 6 years in a clinical/translational medicine faculty position at U of New Mexico. I'm starting my PhD this fall hopefully and I will have just turned 25. I look very young though, so I should be just fine by the time I finish at 30-31.

Overall, never let your age stop you from working on your goals.

Thank you, Strangefox!

Indeed, the majority of the people are in their mid-twenties, but there were some notable exception. There was a person who was 30 and got admitted to Caltech with full funding. This gives me hope:) Anyway, do younger applicants have any true advantage?