Eugene, OR

Guest guest

Yes. I have been an undergraduate at the University of Oregon for five years. What do you want to know?

I'll just throw out a few things that I would wonder about.

It is a pretty good town for bikes. There are a lot of bike lanes and bike shops. You can live hear without a car without any trouble. In fact, two years ago I had a room mate that always drove to school. He had to leave 45 minutes early so he could drive around looking for a parking space, and I would leave 15 minutes before class and bike or ride the bus with no trouble. I don't really ride the bus enough to say if it is a good way to get around, but you do ride free with your student ID.

There are some really good natural food stores that stock a bunch of vegetarian and vegan food, organic produce, and bulk food in bins. Also, there is farmer's market that is open more than half of the year, which is conveniently located down town.

I think rent is pretty reasonable. Right now I live about 3 blocks from (the closest part, about 5-6 blocks from where I actually have classes) of campus and pay $365/month in a three bedroom apartment. I think it is not hard to find a place for $300 if you are a little farther from campus and have a room mate or two. I am not really sure what it costs to live alone, since the only year I lived alone I was in the dorms.

The weather is okay. It doesn't get really cold or hot, but it seems to rain quite a bit.

A block from campus there is a little strip of restaurants which includes Indian, Mexican, Japanese, Chinese, Pizza, Healthy Eclectic (I don't know what to call it; pasta, burritos, omelets, etc, but with a lot of fresh ingredients), Bagels, Subs, and a Bakery. This is mostly $5-7.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...
  • 11 months later...