Current Harris Student

mppm

Hi All,

I'm a current Harris School student and I'd like to offer to answer any questions people might have. Please feel free to PM me if you prefer.

Perfect! I've been making myself sick the past couple of days trying to decide what to do.

I was admitted without funding but am still considering going. The debt combined with my undergrad debt would be out of this world. But based on my own research, it seems that the earnings potential for Harris grads (at consulting firms, particularly for someone like me who is interested in the finance side of things) may be worth taking on the massive debt.

What are are your thoughts on this? Have you found that even with the eco downturn Harris grads are still placing at high rates?

I have many more questions and you can expect me to post them soon! Thanks for helping us out. I know there are others in the same boat as me.

Edited by letsjustgo

Thanks for doing this! I was recently admitted to the Harris MPP program with funding, and I have a few questions. The program seems 1) very quant-heavy and 2) very structured.

1) How much of a focus is placed on math at Harris? What levels of math are needed to excel in the economics classes? I have an undergrad policy degree but not a lot of calculus/econ and even though the admissions committee seems to think I am prepared for the program, I am concerned. (I know there is math camp in the summer, but even with that I'm a little concerned). I'm deciding between Harris and Heinz and I really focus on implementation and management structures, and I'm concerned that the focus on economics won't serve my interest in communications and leadership strategies.

2) Also, the program seems very structured; do you feel like you have enough space with electives to apply your skills to specific interest-areas?