really confused - GRE writing

t_ruth

Hello all.

I need some feedback here. I just got my writing score on the phone and it was a 4.5!?! I have a J.D. from a top 25 law school where I was an editor of the law review and near the top of my class, so I was a bit surprised to be below the 60th percentile on the GRE analytical writing section. I felt that I did a decent job (well, more than decent) during the exam, so was actually floored.

Is it worth trying to get it rescored?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Being a lawyer wasn't the right thing for me, so I am going back for a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology. I've been out of school for some time, so I was counting on the GRE to be good, sigh.

My husband suggested I must have approached the exam like a lawyer, but it is an analytical test, so I don't see why I shouldn't have. I had taken the old GRE in 1997 and scored an 800 on the analytical section then (and my LSAT scores are 98th percentile)...

I'm worried that if he is right, then a rescore will be pointless, and also scared about the possibility of dropping from what I've read about rescores online.

ETA: verbal: 650 (also disappointing) and quant: 760 (which I'm find with considering my last math class was in 1995)