Can High GRE compensate for low GPA?

ketty

Hey guys,

I'm a senior in undergrad with an econ/polsci major. My cumulative GPA is an unimpressive 3.5 - definitely far below the median for most grad schools.

Should I bother even applying to polisci grad school? (I'm interested in IR and theory).

Can a strong GRE (1500+) compensate for my low GPA?

Assuming a 3.5 GPA + 1500 GRE, what schools should I be looking at?

Edited by ketty

Not all 3.5s are created equal.

What's your major GPA? What's the trend? What type/rank of undergrad?

A former advisor who has sat on admit committees at a top 10 told me he wanted to see one semester where the applicant had taken multiple upper-level courses in poli sci and cognate disciplines and gotten all As. He didn't care about the rest of the transcript because that semester showed the applicant could hack it.

But others who read your application will have different rules of thumb (maybe some like consistent performance, maybe some like to see improvement over time, etc.). As in nearly all circumstances, the best advice is to make the rest of your application (statement and letters) as strong as possible, apply widely, and see what happens.

The 3.5 means that your admission is more likely to be the product of a quirkster on the adcom. I would have killed for a 3.5 (long story), and I got into precisely one doctoral program after applying to schools ranked from 4 to 40. When I asked an adcom member as to why the heck I got in (I did not deserve to), she said it's because the only thing she looks at is the quantitative score on the GRE. Such simplistic admissions strategies are rare.