Should I ask this professor for recommendation?

Hi,

I've been doing research for this professor for about 3 months now. His lab is pretty big, so I pretty much work with his post doc, but I never see this professor.

I've been doing experiments but I haven't have any results or any publication.

Should I still ask this professor for a recommendation? since I am working for him.

What do you guys think?

I would think that is okay, since they know you and your work better. I had a post doc in my field whom I knew very well from class write my letter of recommendation.

What consider a well written recommendation?

so far I have one from my math professor whom I had class and worked for 3 years.

A major course professor whom knows me very well.

And this post doc.

do they have significant weight on my application?

What consider a well written recommendation?

so far I have one from my math professor whom I had class and worked for 3 years.

A major course professor whom knows me very well.

And this post doc.

do they have significant weight on my application?

My LOR writers actually let me read their letters before they got sent in. I think a good letter shows that the person knows you well as a person, can speak to your work ethic, your accomplishments and your potential to be a good student. I think having the professor is good too. In my opinion, not all of your references have to have amazing credentials. I would suggest you go over to the forums on The Chronicle of Higher Education, and ask this question in their grad school forum, if you want to seek additional opinions. A lot of people in admissions and others who actually make the decision on whether or not to let someone in read those forums. They might say something completely different than what I think, but it will give you more to base your decision on.

• 1 month later...

I think you're more an exception than a rule, though, Aaron.