Can I get into a top History PhD program?

SecondBlackPrez

Hello,

I am an African-American male and recent graduate from a well-respected school and I am applying this fall to History PhD programs! I majored in History related fields, completed theses on historical topics, took a few history courses, but I did not formally major in History. I have over a 3.8 in my majors and over a 3.6 overall GPA. I recently took the GRE and received a 620V and 670Q. I really want to attend either Harvard, Yale, Columbia or Princeton to study 19th U.S. history, more specifically during the Civil War era. I am interested in the way the Civil War impacted the African American woman's citizenship rights.

At Princeton, I really want to work with Tera Hunter. At Harvard, I really want to work with Annette Gordon-Reed/Higginbotham, At Yale, Edward Rugemer. At Columbia, Eric Foner.

Please give me some feedback!!!! Thanks

Edited by SecondBlackPrez

I would say that although your grades and GRE are definitely great, I wouldn't bank on them solely to get you into a doctoral program. I would concentrate on writing a very strong personal statement and writing sample.

Sigaba, I see no reason for your comment, the OP can define himself in however way he wants to.

Hello,

I am an African-American male and recent graduate from a well-respected school and I am applying this fall to History PhD programs! I majored in History related fields, completed theses on historical topics, took a few history courses, but I did not formally major in History. I have over a 3.8 in my majors and over a 3.6 overall GPA. I recently took the GRE and received a 620V and 670Q. I really want to attend either Harvard, Yale, Columbia or Princeton to study 19th U.S. history, more specifically during the Civil War era. I am interested in the way the Civil War impacted the African American woman's citizenship rights.