Reentering US with visa waver program

Hello,

I'm a new PhD student who just entered the US with an F1 visa.

I have a short trip to Canada planned(already payed and everything!)

before semester begins, but I just discovered that the university has to add

additional endorsements to my I-20 for me to reenter US.

(Or to leave at all? I'm not sure...)

However, I think my ESTA visa waver program I requested for the visiting weekend

is still valid, so I'm wondering if it would be possible for me to go on the

trip to Canada and reenter into the US using the visa waver program.

I couldn't find the answer to my question in the embassy FAQ pages,

so I'm wondering if I should just cancel the trip or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!

few of my friends have done this on their trip to mexico and back, but they also took their i20s with them... just to be on the safe side. and i recommend that you do the same. the additional endorsement is nothing but a signature and new time stamp from your international center and shouldn't take more than few minutes to get. but, given that the semester hasn't started yet, they might need to change the 'enter US no later than' date, or something similar. it shouldn't take more than a day to make the change, imo. but whatever you do, please follow the rules and guidelines as directed by your international center. we int'l students have a LOT of rules to follow and one slippage could lead to disaster.