I chose (cheaper) Harvard over (more expensive) Columbia... and I regret it every single day

CvsH

I decided to write this message because I am finding myself in a very stressful situation.

I am an international student who wanted to pursue Master "X" (I prefer not to disclosure) and attend Columbia University. I have had this idea in my mind for the last 2-3 years. In this particular field, Columbia is very well ranked (bit over Harvard), yet I would say it is not such a big deal because they are more or less similar (I mean, it is not MBA where Harvard is always better ranked than Columbia and are important in that field). I really wanted Columbia because I really liked the program and obviously... because of NYC.

So last year I made my apps, and I was happily accepted to Columbia. It was great! I also applied to other universities (including Harvard) as a back-up.

When the financial aid came, I learnt from Columbia that I got $0 scholarship, yet I got $25k scholarship from Harvard University. The length of the two Masters is comparable, yet tuition in Columbia is slightly more expensive (all the semesters combined, like $3-4k, so the overall additional cost would be $25+3/4 = 28/29.000 dollars more expensive). I also thought that Cambridge/Boston would be cheaper than Manhattan (I was wrong, Cambridge has Manhattan prices). I am not by any means super wealthy, so economically, Harvard looked a better deal.

Talking to some professors and friends who studied in the US, most of them advised me to go to Harvard, than you cannot beat the name (even my thesis prof. at undergrad, who is a Columbia alumni and married to a Harvard alumna, told me to come here), especially internationally... and being almost $30k cheaper, would be a no-brainer.

I had visited Boston/Cambridge once before (in summer, true) and I thought I could live here.

I was wrong.