Absolutely destroyed by the GRE

Rad

So I took my first run at the GRE and I am in an absolute shock and disheartened by the results, I am wanting to get into a Phd in political science program; V: 480-580, Q: 310-410

I knew the math was my weakest point, so I studied like hell the past 3 months, got tutoring and my latest score was around the high 600's in both areas, I am definitely doing this test again but I fear that as one of the schools I am applying to has a mid December application and the earliest available next testing date is January, that they will not accept the application. I am really wanting to get into this program, (Michigan is the dream school) but I am realistic enough to realize that at this point a score like that they wouldn't even bother looking at my application. Trying to decide whether to forgo applying this year and try again next year, or buckle down, study and try to defeat the evil that is the GRE again? any advice or rants would be appreciated.

How is your GPA? Were there circumstances (such as being ill, or some other life event) that prevented you from performing as well as you could have? What kind of tutoring was it? And what books did you use?

I've heard people say that some books are too easy for the math, and combinations of book "x" and "y" are necessary. But I can't remember which they suggested...I do know someone said in another forum that the Princeton book broke the math problems down better and was written more for those having difficulty in math. But they also said that the Princeton book, although a good place to start, was not sufficient, either.

I have a masters degree from a university in Britain that used a pass or fail system, I am in my late 30's so university and high school math was a long time ago, no other real circumstances besides usual nervousness, it was the Kaplan tutoring and their books and also the Princeton book.