niche22

Hi All

Im applying for an MPH at the following universities:

1. population health at UBC

2. health promotion at UofT

3. Health policy at UofA

4. mph at SFU

My specs:

I graduated form Queen's University in biology with a 3.7 GPA in the last two years and overal cGPA of a 3.0. I have some volunteer experience in health but no professional designation. I took a year off but worked in a bank, so completely unrelated.

Im wondering what people are applying for and what their specs are.

Lets get this thread going!

Hello!

I'm applying to the MSc Sante Communitaire at U de Montreal and to the MPH at SFU. GPA: 3.8 for a BA French and 3.6 for a BS Nursing from 2 US universities. 2.5 years work experience as a rural public health nurse. I'm from the US and am a bit unfamiliar with Canadian Universities, but I'd like to learn public health in a better system than ours :) Any tips or insights into these schools would be awesome.

Good luck everyone!

Hey guys,

Great thread. Let's hope we can generate some more buzz over here. I've applied to:

1. U of Alberta, Health Promotion (distance ed)

2. U of Toronto, Health Promotion

3. U of Waterloo, Sociobehavioural stream (distance)

4. Still debating UBC, U Saskatchewan (distance), and Queen's...

I have my BSc from U of T, with a 3.5 in my last 2 years and a cGPA of 3.2. I've been out of undergrad for about 2 years. I have worked at a healthcare admin/regulatory organization and at a community health centre doing health education work. I've also had irrelevant work experience working overseas and as a flight attendant. Not sure if this is enough professional experience considering a lot of these programs want to recruit the really experienced professionals.

Good luck to everyone!