Going to grad school in Fall '12, need a job now though (Part 2)

michigan girl

The inspired me to create this one because I am in a similar situation. Worse, I already have a master's degree.

I will return to graduate school in Fall 2012 to pursue a second master's degree in a field that will expand my employment options. I live in the Midwest, and won't move to the East Coast until August 2012.

I am currently unemployed. Realistically, what are my options? Retail and data-entry work are out of the question because I am "overqualified." In fact, I don't even receive callbacks when I do apply. When I am searching for work, I also avoid positions that require at least a 2-year commitment (I know it's not fair to the employer since I can only work 7 months).

I will be happy with temp work as long as it pays over minimum wage. I will also be happy to hear what others have done in this situation.

Well, I'm kind of sort of in your position, Michigan girl. I have a master's degree, and after applying to too few schools, which in retrospect weren't a good fit, I'm now applying for Fall 2012 admission. I learned a lot during last year's application season and I feel confident about my chances this year, but it's still disappointing. My MA program was also pretty time consuming (I taught three sections, wrote a thesis, and had to take comprehensive exams), so I didn't finish until August, and I didn't really have a back up plan. I moved back home, and I spent three months looking for work. I applied for tons of different types of jobs, but I ended up in retail. In the end, I don't think that being "overqualified" necessarily hurt me, but the retail job that I got is very similar to the retail job that I had during my BA (so I already had relevant experience in that area). The thing that everyone needs to realize is that the economy is really really bad right now, and I lot of people are out of work. While we were getting our MAs, someone was working in some entry level