Columbia SIPA PEPM applicants

sg1984

Hello everyone!

I was wondering if there are any PEPM (Columbia SIPA) applicants in this forum. It would be nice to share thoughts about the application process, and share together all the anxiety about the decisions of the admission committee.

Hi sg1984! I already applied to PEPM for fall 2012. I have a public administration/international institution experience but for less than three years. This is what makes me the most anxious because applicants seems to have more than 4 years of experience in average. What about you?

Hi MPA455!

Actually my experience is limited to research and academia (full time professor at a top ranked university in Bogota, Colombia; 2 and 1/2 years experience). I have a MSc in Economics and next May I'm graduating from a MA in International Development. So your professional background seems much stronger than mine.

The reason why I want to get an MPA is because I am hoping to move from the academia to the public sector, and I am still lacking some managerial skills. I really like the PEPM because it is an intensive 1 year program, and I don't want to study for longer than that since I already have 2 masters and I really want to start my public career in Colombia as soon as possible.

I think that my academic background and my letters of recommendation are really strong, but

I am concerned about my professional background as a researcher and professor. I graduated top of the class in undergrad (Econ) and graduate school (MSc Econ). I am currently a MA ID student at American SIS (full scholarship and TA position) and my GPA is 3.98/4.00.

Do you have any thoughts about my profile and my chances of getting admitted and getting funding at SIPA?

Your background should not be an issue especially if you can demonstrate that your research was oriented toward interesting economic/development issues.