Stay for PhD or leave with Masters?

mjstreet

I'm a grad student in analytical chemistry, and I'm in my second year. I am not the typical grad student, though, because I am supporting a wife (who is a stay at home mom) and two kids. I am currently receiving 30k a year because of a fellowship, but it will soon go down to 22k per year. It feels like a stretch living on my current salary, and I am wondering if I can make it on less. The other problem that I have is that I don't like my work situation and am looking for an out (I have practically no contact with my advisor, and I'm never sure what I should be doing or if I am making progress). I could leave now with a Master's and try to find a job, or I could try to stick this out and finish the PhD. Advice, anyone? Is the PhD worth it? Also, I have heard rumors that it is HARDER to find work with a PhD because it puts you in a higher pay bracket and because the market is saturated. Anyone know if this is true?

I currently work in industry with a bachelor's degree and can say that if all you wanted was a master's, you would have been better off not wasting your time on it. A PhD is a much better value than a master's in industry. Yes, a PhD puts you in a higher pay bracket, but a PhD will pay you back a lot better and faster than a master's degree. If it's only 3 more years, I'd stick it out and not put your last 2 to waste. In my opinion, better to take out loans if you need them, because you should be able to pay them back with your PhD salary. Maybe your wife can get creative and start childcare for other working parents to help supplement your income?

I will say that I am an undergraduate, but when I worked in industry for a brief time, in the long run, people with PhD's were those in higher positions and it was easier for them to advance.

Also, there are a lot of opportunities for stay-at-home moms. For instance, I've taken a job as a "search engine evaluator" with Google--