Anyone else in kind of a slump?

juilletmercredi

It's my fourth year of a PhD program. I finished my coursework and my written qualifying exam already. I'm currently studying for my second set of qualifying exams (orals) and am also supposed to be writing my comprehensive paper. This summer I should be writing my prospectus, and given that my data collection is already finished, I should be finished writing my dissertation in spring 2013, and should defend in spring/early summer of 2013. I only have a year left. There's a light at the end of the tunnel.

So why can't I get motivated to do anything? Normally I am a procrastinator anyway, but I got so much better around my second year of graduate school. I was doing things early, getting things done, moving and shaking. Now I'd rather do things I hate than the things I really love. I actually love reading articles and studying for my orals, but I'll put it aside in favor of washing my dishes or doing laundry. I don't know why. Sometimes I just sit and think - about my career in the future, about whether I'm going to get a job, about the weather, about everything ELSE. And whenever I get to actually doing work that will help me graduate, suddenly I am sleepy.

I'm still really passionate about my field, I still want to do research in it, I still see myself having a career in public health (just not necessarily in academia). But I'm getting kind of burned out, and I realize that. I came to this program from undergrad. I need to know that this happens to other grad students (especially in PhD programs) and that you can successfully jump over the hump and get out of the funk. Anyone?

I actually love reading articles and studying for my orals, but I'll put it aside in favor of washing my dishes or doing laundry. I don't know why.

that's a bad thing? dishes and laundry need to get done. I don't think you need to feel guilty about that.