Should I mention getting rejected last year in my interview?

redheadedasian

Hi everyone! I have an interview with the University of Tennessee's speech pathology program on March 5th, and to my knowledge it will be the only school to interview me. I just had a quick question about whether I should mention something in my interview if such a question comes up.

Even though I majored in linguistics and had never set foot in a speech pathology class or observation, I knew last year (my senior year of college) that I wanted to go to grad school for SLP. So, I applied to several schools, all very ambitious choices (perhaps too much so). I got an interview at one, a waitlist position at another, but ultimately went 0 for 7. But I didn't let this get me down; when it looked like I wouldn't get in anywhere, I took it upon myself to get my prerequisites done (at a great online program, on my own time) and improve my GRE scores and resume over the next year. I worked my tail off, working at a full-time internship while taking my first nine hours of post-bac prerequisites, and later working with adults with developmental disabilities and slight communication disorders while I took the rest of the classes. So far, this has paid off - I have only heard good news from the schools I applied to this year. (If it matters, I have only applied to one of the schools I didn't get into last year, and it's not Tennessee.)

Should I mention this story? It would be my honest answer to a question like "Tell me about your greatest accomplishment" or "What are you most proud of?" Heck, it could serve as an explanation of WHY they should choose me (I'm self-motivated, driven, determined...). It may sound bad to mention my rejection, but could I just mention it briefly and dwell on the positives? Should I add that those schools were all VERY competitive? Any help is appreciated!

Congrats on all the improvements ! :)