2.35 GPA, do I have a chance anywhere?

secretshayats

I have an incredibly low GPA with an upward trend in my senior year. I did poorly in Economics, and want to do a MA in International Affairs.

I don't want to do an MA in the United States (that is where I did my undergraduate studies); however, my mom says I have no chance at European schools. I am looking at some low tiered schools in the U.K., and some American affiliates in France and Rome.

Do I have a shot?

I graduated 7 years ago and have fantastic work experience: government work, non profit, and field experience overseas. I can also speak several languages and am working on studying a 6th language online.

Please let me know what you guys think!!

The first step you should take is to contact the grad program coordinator at the schools you are interested in. Provide your stats, and they will be able to tell you what you need to do to improve your application package. These people are a great resource and usually very helpful.

That said....2.35 is very low and will make your application uncompetitive. Your work experience and such will definitely strengthen your application, but adcomms are going to balk at the gpa. If possible, you should take post-bacc classes to improve your gpa and show adcomms that you have potential. Having superb gre scores would help a great deal in this case.

You should take courses that apply toward International Affairs. Retaking relevant courses that you did not do well in previously would certainly help. I can't say that I know of any schools with a minimum gpa below 2.50. A less desirable and expensive option is to go back to school and get a second bachelor's degree. Start over and do really well. I have an acquaintance who has done this and did really well the second time around, and he went on to get his MS successfully.

I have an incredibly low GPA with an upward trend in my senior year. I did poorly in Economics, and want to do a MA in International Affairs.