SOP: Coping with personal problems

Hello ,

I'm a computer science undergrad going to apply to grad school (Masters in CS) and I'm preparing my SOP.

I really liked my field and have interest in doing research. Though In my first few years of college, I suffered from social anxiety which crippled my grades. However I tried to overcome it with determination. At present, my social anxiety is almost solved.

I've read the great book Graduate Admission Essays by Donald Asher. By his advice of explaining low grades is:

(i) It has to be in the past (ii) It has to be resolved (iii) It has to be sympathetic (iv) It should unlikely be recur in grad school.

Though I think I meet most of the criteria. I'm not sure is this (social anxiety) sympathetic enough. My question is at what length should I mention it in the essay? Should make it my major thesis or just a paragraph in the middle or not even mention it ?

One of my concern is that if it's a psychology or some humanity programs it may seem ok to mention this, since they are about people. But this is a CS program.

Thanks.

Josh

Edited by joshux

Hello ,

I'm a computer science undergrad going to apply to grad school (Masters in CS) and I'm preparing my SOP.

I really liked my field and have interest in doing research. Though In my first few years of college, I suffered from social anxiety which crippled my grades. However I tried to overcome it with determination. At present, my social anxiety is almost solved.

I've read the great book Graduate Admission Essays by Donald Asher. By his advice of explaining low grades is:

(i) It has to be in the past (ii) It has to be resolved (iii) It has to be sympathetic (iv) It should unlikely be recur in grad school.

Though I think I meet most of the criteria. I'm not sure is this (social anxiety) sympathetic enough. My question is at what length should I mention it in the essay? Should make it my major thesis or just a paragraph in the middle or not even mention it ?