Dress

attrapereves

I will be a graduate instructor in the fall. I have very little teaching experience expect for some tutoring, but I'm ready for the challenge.

I do have one question regarding dress code for men. I obviously want to look more professional than wearing jeans and a tee. However, I think wearing a suit and tie is a bit overdoing it. Will khaki or black pants and a short sleeve polo be acceptable for warmer weather? For cool weather, I was thinking about khaki or black pants with a button up shirt.

Thanks

Agree with ktel. As a girl, I thought "casual church Sundays" -- a casual dress and flats, or slacks and a casual shirt, or dressed up some dark jeans with a nicer blouse, jewelry, and heels. I always tried not to overdo it because I wanted to seem approachable to my students, but I also didn't want to look like a student myself. :)

I used to work in a semi-formal office, and my boss (a man in his late 30s) would say that if he didn't shave that day, he made sure to dress up. If he was clean-shaven, he could get away with more informal attire. I always thought that was funny, because it was true! He always looked well-put together.

(Edit): PS. I would definitely, at all costs, stay away from athletic shoes/sneakers (ie. Nikes, Reeboks, or anything you use at the gym or to run around the track). Even a pair of decent Converse or Pumas can work instead. But I would consider investing in a good pair of black or brown shoes. They go with everything (jeans, slacks, etc), and can make you look really polished regardless of whatever else you're wearing.

Edited by heyles

I'm thinking some nice plain jeans without holes or designs and a polo should be sufficient. I'll also consider khakis. For shoes, I'm thinking some slip on leather moccasins.

Should I tuck the polo in or leave the tail out? What about when wearing different colored dress shirts?