Taking the Prelim when you show up

At my institution, you get a free shot at the prelim when you first arrive (physics PhD program). I have a master's from another institution and, since the prelim reflects one's first-year graduate education, I believe that I might be able to pass it given a summer of dedicated study. If I pass it, I could by-pass typical first-year courses.

This is really a non-quandry because I think I will give it a shot, but I wonder whether it would be worth it to take first-year courses with the rest of my peers and really nail down the material once-and-for-all (i.e. take my time instead of rushing). On the flip-side, part of me thinks that taking the same courses over again (albeit from a different institution) is a rather daunting proposition.

Any thoughts?

How long has the break been between MA and entering PhD?

It's been 2 years since I graduated (spring 2010) and 4 years since my first-year courses (fall 2008). It's been a little while, which makes me feel like the courses would be helpful. Additionally, different universities/profs cover material differently so there is potential to gain important new perspectives. But my stomach sinks a little imagining sitting in a class similar to one that I took 4 years ago.

The tuition is waived and I have a stipend, so money is not a concern.

I would double up on classes; ie - still take the course as a refresher for the prelims, but double up on what you would normally take. That's what I intend on doing first two semesters - I've already taken a course seq. at undergraduate level, but will still take their equivalent course (and as you say instructors can vary WILDLY in how they teach the same material) but will be taking other graduate courses since the burden is reduced significantly.

However, this will have been like no-gap for me; only you know how confident you are with that 4-year gap (but I mean is it really "4-years" if you've been engaged with the material since then).