Doing a survey: How much time did you take to prepare for the GRE?

ccarmona

Hey everyone,

Just looking for some chip shots here. No long elaborate answers needed, just data! If your taking (or took) GRE: Verbal, Quant, and Ant! No scores just time.

Example: 2 weeks or 6 months

Thanks in advance!

Edited by ccarmona

For the General GRE, by section:

Verbal: I studied word lists for about a month before the test date and I also did practice test questions from random websites and the ETS page. Probably 35-40 hours of work in total.

Quantitative: I did 2 sets of practice questions from a sample test I think. My BSc meant I didn't really have to study for this.

Analytical Writing: I reviewed all the possible topics (just looked at them) the week before. I wrote a practice essay the night before the exam.

I took about 2 months (7 weeks) to study.

My biggest weakness was math, so I spent most of the time reading through solution sets and completing practice problems. I also compiled a vocabulary list and created a huge amount of index cards. I didn't really study for the writing portion at all.

In the end, I think the studying paid off--I could perhaps have improved my verbal score by a couple hundred points, but I plateaued in my math results (according to the ETS PowerPrep software) after a month and a half of studying.

Edited by ribeth

Quant: went through a study book for 2 months and took 10 or so practice tests. I hadnt taken a math class in UG at all, so it all left me. Average score.

Verbal: Read through word lists, took a couple practice tests. Did very, very well.

Writing: Didn't study at all, no practice tests. (I did a lot of this in UG and before with writing AP tests). Did pretty well.

Went through the practice exams on the CD ETS sent out sometime before the test, but nothing other than that. I just wanted to have a feel for timing and flow. I also did a quick perusal of the ETS site for descriptions of score brackets for the writing section.