Western University (UWO)

new_to_kin

• 2 weeks later...

I'm also an international student (from Ireland) heading to UWO in September. Pretty excited already :)

One thing I was wondering, maybe some current grad students can help with; what's the accommodation situation like? The graduate residences look really expensive, $800+ a month for a single apartment in the Glenmore residences. A lot cheaper for the two-bedroom apartments but unfortunately you need to apply with a roommate and I don't know anyone else. Ideally I'd like to rent a shared house with some other graduate students. A lot cheaper and more fun than living on my own! How early would I have to arrive in London to sort this out? I probably won't be flying over til mid-August at least, and I wouldn't like to commit to somewhere I haven't seen in person.

$800 is a LOT in this town for a single room. You can get a 2 bedroom apt for about the same amount.

PM me if you want more info - I'm originally from Australia so I understand how it is to move overseas for grad school (did my Masters in the US).

• 1 month later...

Nicee! super pumped theres a thread for this school, Im going to UWO for fall!!

Starting to look at places to stay cant decide on a bachelor apartment or to go the roommate way. Was thinking bachelor because I dont know anyone and have never been thereeeeeeeeee womp wompp

But the housing seems reasonable? the res is crazy pricy but in town doesnt seem too bad?

Just be careful where you rent. The "student ghetto" is full of really awful accomodations surrounded by drunk undergrads.

I live here, so if anyone needs advice about where to rent, let me know.

Incidentally, I went to visit someone who lives in Platt's Lane (grad and family housing) and it was quite nice. Definitely had the feeling of...council estates/low income housing, but it was ok. Lots of families and international students.

Hi all,