Time Out of School, Between Degrees

Like many people here, I had to take time off between my undergrad and my Masters. I'm not particularly concerned about explaining that away, but I am worried about the additional year that I will have to take off between my Masters and my PhD. Many people have said that working as an adjunct is a good idea, but I won't have post-secondary teaching experience as my degree is a one year program in the UK. I am planning on looking for internships, but I don't know if there are any other good options for using that "down" time well. Is taking classes that aren't towards your degree (language classes, for example) considered a productive use of that time? If you had a year or years off between degrees, how did you productively make use of that time? Were you able to combine school and work still or was it more like my year this year, ie working full time and fitting anything school-related in time off? Finally, am I worrying about nothing or do programs really care about unaccounted-for time?

I think one year off is really no big deal. Taking language classes (especially since most programs have a language requirement) is a really great idea--I wish I had time to do that. Also, maybe some community involvement, or tutoring would be a good way to show that you're still being productive during your "off time."

I think one year off is really no big deal. Taking language classes (especially since most programs have a language requirement) is a really great idea--I wish I had time to do that. Also, maybe some community involvement, or tutoring would be a good way to show that you're still being productive during your "off time."

Yeah, I'd love to take language classes. Maybe if I move back in with a parent for a year, or if I receive some of the scholarships I applied for, I will be able to afford to do it while working part time or something. Who knows!