Univ of Southern California PhD ECE related

aus1983

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Hi,

I have been accepted in the PhD program of Computer Science at USC.

Currently, I am in my final year of Undergraduate Studies.

But, I also have an admit from UIUC for MS in CS with partial funding.

At this point of time, I am pretty sure that I want to join a PhD program, so my first priority is USC. Moreover, my research interests are also inclined more towards a professor in USC compared to professors in UIUC.

However, I have few questions on deciding between the two and I would be very grateful if any1 can answer these question of mine.

1)Since I am only an undergraduate student, so will I be able to earn MS degree on the way to my PhD at USC?

2)Will it be a wise decision to reject the MS offer from UIUC because if i accept it, i will have an option of taking/not taking PhD later on. Whereas, if I accept the PhD offer from USC, will I be able to leave in the middle (and get an MS degree) in case i get disenchanted from research?

1)Since I am only an undergraduate student, so will I be able to earn MS degree on the way to my PhD at USC?

Most programs have some method for making the MS available to PhD candidates en route to their doctorate. You may need to do some additional work, but many schools award it automatically if you reach a certain point in the PhD program. Check with USC for their own procedure.

2)Will it be a wise decision to reject the MS offer from UIUC because if i accept it, i will have an option of taking/not taking PhD later on. Whereas, if I accept the PhD offer from USC, will I be able to leave in the middle (and get an MS degree) in case i get disenchanted from research?