Should I take the GRE again? (Applying for M.A. Education)

shl67

Hello! I posted this in the GRE forum, but I figured it would be nice to get some advice from people especially interested in Education. I want to get a Master's in Education along with licensure to teach in secondary schools, but I'm on the fence about whether or not I should take the GRE again.

I took it with zero preparation and had just gotten my wisdom teeth out the day before (therefore on plenty of vicodin as well), so let's just say that I didn't do my best. I ended up with:

630 Verbal (90%)

660 Quantitative (61%)

4 Writing (48%, ouch)

Do you think that's enough to get into most grad programs in Education (barring high-tier programs such as HGSE, etc.)? How much do they look at the writing score? To give you an idea of the schools I'm looking at, they include UT Austin, U Michigan, U Washington, UNC-Chapel Hill, etc.

I graduated from Cornell with majors in English, French, and German with a GPA of 3.93... do you think that might shift the focus off my less-than-stellar test scores?!

Thanks for your advice!

Your V and Q scores are high enough for Master's in Education programs (HGSE's averages are 600V/660Q). Your writing score is a bit lower than most program's averages, but not significantly so. Since you're applying for Fall 2013, you have time to prepare for a retake, but on the other hand, you'd have to prep for the new test format, which may or may not play to your strengths.

• 2 weeks later...

You might consider emailing a current student at some prospective schools to see what they think. I suspect that if you have a strong writing sample, they would look past your GRE score, but I don't know.