MPA or MPP for Journalism.

Xoan

Hello all,

I'm not going to bore you with my life story, basically, I'm a lawyer (4 years prof. experience + 4 years as intern in various law firms) looking to study an MPA-MPP (depending on the school), but my goal is to get a job in media (hopefully a serious magazine like Foreign Affairs, The Economist, Time, etc.) and write/investigate.

Am I aiming at the wrong target? Should I study a Masters in Journalism instead? Is there anybody out here with similar goals?

Thanks to all.

You might want to explore a joint degree program with those specific goals and a career transition. I almost went for the Public Diplomacy joint MS/MA degree program at Syracuse--their j-school is one of the best and their public affairs school isn't bad either. The joint degrees are M.S. Public Relations and M.A. International Relations, so it's not a straight-up journalism degree, but you could see if you could tailor the program. Some schools also allow students to independently tailor a dual Masters program (though it's more common to do MPP/MBA or MPH), so it's worth looking into if you know the school you're looking at has a reputable j-school and policy program.

Thanks a lot OregonGal, I've researched a couple of Joint Degrees and found some very interesting options.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Xoan,

I was searching this message board for information about MPA/MPP programs and I found your post. It was almost eerie reading it, because I am also an attorney (with approximately 5 years of experience under my belt) and I'm also looking to get into an MPA/MPP program to break into journalism. I'm interested in writing on international relations and human rights-related topics. Would you mind sharing what programs you've found?

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...