Is Anyone Going to Read Your Writing Sample At All?

villina

I was wondering, how important writing sample in your packet of documents at all. It looks like everyone is busy with GRE-preparation, learning words, seeking for good recommendations, and so forth. It looks like writing sample should be, if required, just to accomplish the number of documents, and that no one going to read it. Or, if someone is going, it is not something decisive - only another chance of being rejected, but never the chance to overwhelm relatively poor GRE-score -) Is there any scientifically acknowledged situations, when writing played a great - well, in fact, any - role?

I am an engineering student and I don't know about any "scientifically acknowledged" situation, however, I know that frequently when a faculty takes interest in your case it is usually from your resume (or having contacted him). When he wants to look at your application in detail to make a decision he will begin looking at your recommendation letters and statement of purpose more closely. At this stage I guess he would look at a sample writing as well if you provided one. I doubt that it would have a huge effect (unless your sample writing is an impressive journal paper or something) unless your writing is really bad in which case it may have a negative effect.

According to one of the members on the admissions committe in my department (sociology) the letters of recommendation are read first, followed by the statement of purpose. So yes, the statement of purpose is counted more highly then students think.