Renting an apartment with no credit history in the US

Hello All,

I'm an international student about to start looking for apartments in NYC. I was wondering if someone could share their experiences with landlords. Did you encounter any trouble with landlords requiring some sort of security from international students? My parents would be willing to co-sign the lease if necessary. However, I don't have much time to find an apartment and am hoping to sign the lease on the spot without too much hassle, paperwork etc. Should I bring along any specific documents proving that I can afford the house/that my parents would support me financially? Is it a huge problem that I won't have a SSN or credit history???

Any help would be very appreciated!

My labmates are both Canadian, and had a colossally difficult time with finding a first rental. Both ended up living for about 6 months in what were essentially boarding houses with the landlord on site in order to establish a rental history. But I know plenty of other folks (also all Canadian, so this may not be totally applicable if you are moving from elsewhere) who had smooth transitions and just used their history of bill payment as a substitute for credit history. A letter in hand from your parents, a printout of your bank account showing sufficient savings to pay 5-6 months of rent, and a letter of support from your graduate institution confirming you have a job (grad stipend) and what the pay is should be plenty so that you can sign on the spot. But this is all anecdote, so I defer to any international students who want to comment.