Been studying for 6 months and seeing NO improvement on verbal score

shockwave

Hi everyone.

I have been studying GRE verbal rigiriously for about 6 months now and I am seeing no real improvements on my verbal score on practice tests. I seem to always get between 13/20 and 14/20, which I don't think is very good considering I want to go into PhD programs in social sciences where verbal certainly weighs more. Math is alright, I am getting about 15/20 - 17/20 and I haven't even begun studying for it yet. I have studied and processed about 1,000 vocab words and I continue to do so, but I don't feel like my work is paying off. I find I am usually having a great deal of trouble with reading comp questions where I get most of them wrong, then I get a few sentence equivalencies or sentences compeltions wrong too.

Can anyone offer me some advise or suggestions? It's really frusterating at times dedicating so much time and effort and not seeing promising results. :(

Have you taken practice tests, or are you just doing problems/questions? If you haven't taken a practice test yet, try starting with the ETS Power Prep software to get a sense of what the actual test looks and feels like, and to get an estimated score that you can use to guide future studying.

Beyond that, it sounds like you may have reached the point where you need outside help -- a formal classroom course, or an online program -- because you've hit the wall of what you can accomplish independently. You've invested a lot of time into memorizing vocab, but it's not paying off, and it doesn't sound like you have a backup study strategy. While others of us can tell you what worked for us, we can't predict what will work for you -- only someone who knows you and your testing style can help with that.