Contacting POI's, Writing SOP's and other questions...

jpngrl

Hi All!

Gradcafe has been an invaluable resource over the past through months, and you all have been really great with answering my questions about the application process for grad school. As September approaches, I'm really gearing up to begin and I would love your input on a couple of issues.

To recap, I'm a recent grad with a 3.8 from a liberal arts college, seeking to study material culture and decorative arts, with a particular focus on collecting in 19th/20th century America and material exchange with non-Western countries. As some of you may have guessed, my number one choice is Bard Graduate Center, with Winterthur, Cooper Hewitt, UPENN and (suggestions??) maybe one other.

I'm wondering what the etiquette is for contacting POIs, especially since the majority of programs I'm applying to have a more specialized MA program, and are smaller. Should I present the highlighted features of my SOP (as seen above) and ask if there are resources and scholarly guidance available by so-and-so professor at so-and-so school? Is anyone willing to send me a copy of their letter (preferably one that got a reply) so I can see how it's typically done?