NSF GRFP 2012-2013

Robin G. Walker

I am in my first year of graduate study, currently doing rotations. The research I'm doing at my first rotation is pretty cool and I think it's certainly possible that I might end up in the lab. That being said, I'm not SURE that I want to stay in this lab and certainly want to do at least one or two more rotations.

My questions:

If my current rotation PI writes one of my three letters of reference for the NSF GRFP and I'm awarded the fellowship, am I kind of obliged to stay in her lab?

I understand that there are no rules saying that I HAVE to stay -- I'm more interested in your opinions regarding if this is good form or not.

Thanks!

Is this fellowship external? can you apply to this after undergrad ?(not currently enrolled in masters)

currently work and graduated (B.S.) planning on applying to MS+Phd programs. some schools mentions that they nominate for fellowships.....

the last essay seems geared towards people already in masters program.......

Is this fellowship external? can you apply to this after undergrad ?(not currently enrolled in masters)

currently work and graduated (B.S.) planning on applying to MS+Phd programs. some schools mentions that they nominate for fellowships.....

the last essay seems geared towards people already in masters program.......

Yes, the NSF GRF is external and not the same as fellowships that you get nominated for by your prospective department/school. You do need three recommendation letters, but you write the essays and submit the application yourself.

And yes you can apply after undergrad without being in an MS/Phd program already. I graduated with my B.S. in Spring 2011 and applied for the GRF during the 2011-2012 cycle (at the same time I was applying to PhD programs).

Edited by Pitangus

Does anyone know what order the essays are presented?