Art Conservation- Questions about how to go about it

TaraGreen89

Hey Everyone

I realized somewhat late in my undergraduate career that I wanted to go into art conservation, so I'm going to have to work on fulfilling my Chemistry requirements & bone up on languages on the side while I work and hopefully squirrel away a little money for grad school. Since I go to Hampshire (A non traditional school) I don't strictly speaking have a GPA, but all of my course recommendations were pretty glowing, and in the courses I took outside of Hampshire I got lots of A's and A minuses, a couple of B's, and one C (in Intro to Chem but I'm going to retake that course and take the other Chem classes I need to to make up for that).

I have a couple years of experience working in local art galleries in a museum guard/administrative assistant sort of position. I also have a couple of internships set up for this year- one at a local historical society doing collections management work, and another with the Smith Frame Conservation Program,

I've been looking pretty hard at the academic requirements for Conservation programs, and I realize that even with glowing Chemistry grades and an excellent portfolio- its going to take me a few years to get into a good program. But I want to use my time wisely, and go about this in a focused and effective manner- so I was wondering if anyone had advice they'd be willing to give me.

Also I'm considering applying for a Masters in Art History in the interim- I could hopefully get some work in the museum field once I graduated, and academically it might give me a little bit of a head start for conservation programs. Would that be a good idea- or would I be better served trying to find more conservation internships/work experience?

Thank you for your time