The Terminal Art History MA--Is it Worth It?

toniaparker

Today, with the job situation being what it is, you'll want to ask yourself, honestly, what do you want to gain from studying art history at the graduate level. Do you want to become a curator, or do you want to go into academics?

If you want to be a curator, then the MA is an ideal option, provided you're resourceful when it comes to your own work experience. If your answer is the latter, I would strongly advise that you DO NOT go into a terminal MA program in Art History but go into the PhD straight away if you're admitted. I graduated from the MA program at The Institute of Fine Arts a few years ago. I'm sad to say, it was not a positive experience. The MA, for most schools as it is with the IFA, is a money-making project.

The IFA admitted more students than they could handle. The faculty have a lot they're working on, and can't really give much time to the students. In terms of career advice, a student at the IFA is on his own. I'm sad to say, there's also a good deal of open favoritism, where certain students are tracked into curating jobs and PhD programs while others watch on the sidelines. This happens at other schools too, but I think the programs at more academically-oriented schools like Williams and Delaware will be more measured and guided towards their students. In terms of accountability to their students' futures, I was disappointed by my experience at the IFA. And me and some of my friends were also told some unpleasant, bordering on unethical statements, by some of the faculty there. Professors can do a disservice at times, by trying to be a bit familiar with you, when they should focus solely on your academic and professional future.

The faculty, in the Modern and Contemporary dept, didn't want to give my much in terms of job or career guidance. Fortunately for me, I'm now in my first year at law school at UCLA and very happy because I've found productive work that I want to do.