Research vs. personal ideological conflicts

stell4

I am currently an unfunded MS student about to be funded; last one in my group to receive full funding. I should be excited right? The problem is the research involves inflicting wounds on rather intelligent animals and keeping them alive for several months (drugged). I am one of those crazy animal people who would probably cut my arm if it meant saving my dogs. At the same time, I recognize that I do eat meat, which of course not only harms animals through killing them, but also the horrific conditions most experience in their short lives, and I am sure I benefit in more ways than I know from animal research. All this would lead me to justifying the research to myself... it being for the good of human kind, but, maybe it's not. The research is for the DOD and I'll be honest I am a bit of a hippie and the idea of doing research for potential weapons use makes this research prospect just look that much worse to me. Has anyone else gone through something like this, or have any suggestions for getting through it? Not taking this opportunity is not an option, or is it just that everyone has a price, and apparently mine is about 40K.

Edited by stell4

Just out of curiosity, since I don't know your project, why do you jump to "it's for the DoD, it must have potential weapons applications"?

I get the other concerns with your research, but not that. The DoD funds a ton of research that isn't related to weapons- including a lot of biomedical research on wound healing, tissue regeneration, anti-viral drug development, etc. that has much wider implications to medicine as a whole.

Just out of curiosity, since I don't know your project, why do you jump to "it's for the DoD, it must have potential weapons applications"?