Attention Public Policy/Affairs PhDs & Applicants!

PolyWonk

So I haven't been able to find a forum dedicated to those who want to do Policy PhDs. I see people here and there, and there are IR/PolySci/Econ vs Policy threads out there, but this is not one of those. Nor is it about MPPs & MPAs. Please. Policy only.

If you are or would like to apply for a PhD in PP or PA, I want to pick your brain. I am currently applying too! What are your research interests? What led you there? Did you do a master's? Work? Coming straight from undergrad?

Where are you applying? Are you applying to Econ/PolySci/IR programs as well? What's the dream school - your numero uno? Have you visited it?

For those who are currently doing your PhD in Public Policy/Affairs, tell us about your application process. Where did you apply? Where did you get in? Where did you choose?

Hello PolyWonk,

This is my first time venturing to post here. I stumbled upon this topic and I thought I'd quickly respond. I am very interested in a PhD in policy.I don't have a lot of time now, but I live in New England and I'm going to stick to applying to at least one of the schools in this area. I just skimmed your post so please forgive me if I do not have the input you are looking for. I earned my MSW many years ago and discovered that I was drifting away from clinical practice and became drawn to policy. I got a job working for the state legislature and I took off. Initally I thought I wanted a PhD in Public Administration, but then I began researching policy programs and they were a much better fit for me. So, I'm looking at public policy programs with a strong economic/legal core. I'm pretty laid back about the "dream" school thing because I'm sort of over that (or I'm just too old to be concerned :D ). As long as the school and program are decent, I'll look into them. Anyway, I will keep you posted as I narrow my choice in schools if you're interested. Thanks for posting this. Policy isn't as popular a prof