Leave PhD in Chemistry for B.S. in Petroleum Engineering

riddickbull

I am currently in a top 15 program for my PhD in chemistry. I got into the program without trying much and received a merit fellowship (about 100k). My undergraduate research professor wanted me to apply to a top tier school since my chances were high. However, I did not take my chemistry GREs so I was not eligible to apply. I just accepted admissions to the school with the highest ranking, not even visiting the school. I read many post about people on this site with the same problem as me. My original plan was to go to professional school so I chose to major in chemistry. After volunteering, I hated working with people and patients and did not want to go to professional school. I graduated with my B.S. in chemistry and just kind of fell into a PhD program.

I spoke with many old supervisors who are PhD chemists. They told me not to get a M.S. in chemistry. They told me it was negatively viewed and says "you weren't good enough for a PhD". I wanted to get my masters than go to petroleum engineering (PE) school.

This may sound greedy or unprofessional, but my reason to get a B.S. in PE is simply for money. I noticed a PhD in chemistry does not get you the best salary. My interest in chemistry has faded away. I essentially have nothing left in the gas tank to continue. I need a change of pace. I could graduate with a B.S. in PE and earn more money than a PhD chemist. I spoke to other grad students who told me that if you are in it for the money, don't get a PhD. I don’t mind boring or hard work as long as I make a high salary. This may sound stupid, but I would clean crap of tires if I had a high paying salary.