10 Year "break" in academics

Iyer_CS

Hey All,

The last time I was at a college was way back in 2002 - when I completed my 4 yr Bachelors in Comp. Sci. I've been working ever since and have 10+ yrs of experience in Programming. Unfortunately - it's on Legacy (Mainframe) applications - and the clients (business managers in companies like Morgan Stanley & Bank of America) are not named or renown individuals.

My current project (for more than 3 years now) is at an entertainment & media giant (don't want to name my current client) - and I know my business-manager & my immediate supervisor will definitely give me a very good LOR. I can get the 3rd one from a business-analyst (she has more than 30 yrs of work experience & has worked closely with me).

I want to know if it's okay to not have any academic LORs - because I have a difficult time contacting my college/university [i'm working at L.A. & my college/university is in India; needless to say I have no contacts there]

I also have this other question: Will my long-break (10 yrs) play a significant role in the admissions process - to my detriment?

Any tips or suggestions - or web-links - will be much appreciated.

MN

I would advise trying to get at least one (if not more) academic LORs - going in after a large academic break can seem daunting at first, but if you write to a large number of profs., there are profs. who are usually more than happy to assist. Of course, being away for so long means that the letters may not be as personal, but if you provide them enough fodder (especially any project/thesis/research done, apart from grades and transcripts etc.) you might be pleasantly surprised. Going in without any academic LORs is a bit risky. 

If you can link your work experiences into why you want to do a PhD and your future plans post PhD, the long break may not be an issue. The key is to convince the adcoms (through your SOP) that: