How important is major GPA, minor GPA, and overall GPA?

Ariananana

Hey everyone,

I'm a junior this year, but not graduating until December 2014 because I want to finish my minor in public policy since I was accepted to take graduate courses to fulfill the requirements, which have been great. I plan on taking 3 courses in my final semester while interning and working. My goal is to be accepted into a PhD program in geography, particularly related to the effects of population growth on water resources-- mix of demography and certain aspects of physical geography. My advisor/professor recommended UC-Santa Barbara since he knows faculty there that he would love to recommend me for and such-- but I have doubts that I could even dream of getting into that school.

I am a transfer student from a business school so I have a lot of variety on my transcript, for better or worse-- from business to politics to economics. Since my major GPA after this semester will be like a 3.8-4.0 depending on one of my physical geography courses, I'm thinking he has assumed the rest of my grades were equally fantastic, in addition to my advanced GIS skills going in. My gen eds between the two schools without my geography courses is only ~3.15 (with 4 C/+'s in gen eds), overall being somewhere in the 3.3-3.4. UC- Santa Barbara and similar schools seem to be extremely competitive, so would I have any chance of getting into those? I don't anticipate any drop in my major GPA and my gen eds are done except for a music and german lit course (ugh!).

Just wondering if anyone who is in grad school or has been accepted has noticed any priorities given to the major and/or minor gpa relative to the overall and how much weight the overall gpa has on odds of getting in.

Thanks, and sorry if that was too long! I've been so worried looking back on my transcript :(