Took the GRE today...here are the stats:

I took the GRE today, and it stated I made a 142 (V) and 137 (Q). I majored in sociology and minored in psychology. My GPA is as follows (3.7 major), (3.66 minor), (3.3 cumulative undergraduate) (3.75 university GPA). I am currently in the M.A. program in sociology at TWU, I wanted to know if these stats are workable to go into a decent sociology or psychology program for the Ph.D.? 

You remind me of myself. I double majored in crim and soc and have a 3.7 GPA undergrad. I currently have a 3.7 GPA in my MA. My GRE scores were about 144 v and 132 Q. I am applying to 6 PhD programs this summer. People will tell you that you cant get into any decent PhD school with those GRE scores. Don't listen to them! You can get into a decent program but don't expect top 10. I am currently in the 4th best program in the country for criminal justice but that's only for my MA. Like you I have an AS, BA and soon to have an MA (Fall, 2013). I actually am applying to Texas State University in San Marcos for the CJ PhD program (My top choice).

I think you need to be realistic. Extremely low GRE scores will keep you out of programs, even less competitive ones. They will also be a hindrance to funding and other opportunities at certain schools.

It's not a matter of raining on someone's parade by stating that GRE scores do matter to some degree. A quant score in the fourth percentile or lower is a red flag.

I think you need to be realistic. Extremely low GRE scores will keep you out of programs, even less competitive ones. They will also be a hindrance to funding and other opportunities at certain schools.

It's not a matter of raining on someone's parade by stating that GRE scores do matter to some degree. A quant score in the fourth percentile or lower is a red flag.