Applying for Research MS in CS Fall 2014, could use some guidance/reality check

DSA

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and I'm looking forward to getting involved in this community here. Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to help me figure some things out about my future and grad school stuff.

In short, I'm wanting to pursue a master's degree (and hopefully eventually a PhD) in computer science starting in fall of 2014. I know I've got some setbacks that probably hurt my application, so I'm hoping I can figure out the range of schools I should be shooting for.

I graduated with a BS in computer science from the University of Utah in the spring of 2011. Both my general and major GPA were 3.66. 

I spent my first year after graduation abroad, teaching English as a second language in southern China (having taken some Mandarin classes at the U of U). For the last 12 months I've been working in the Kansas City area as a software developer at a small solutions company, mainly building mobile/web applications and developing middleware server software for telecoms. 

I feel like I really want to get involved in research in the CS world to be part of something cutting-edge and bringing the future closer. In terms of a specialty, the worlds of graphics/visualization are really fascinating to me, and I want to get involved in research that has to do with visual representations of data and simulations of large systems on a world/universe scale.

In my spare time I've been working on teaching myself about OpenGL and three.js, and have been making contributions to an open-source project on GitHub to build a distributed set of planetary simulation server software. Getting involved in academic research seems like a good way to pursue that kind of knowledge-building.

I took the GRE a few weeks ago and got the following scores: 163 quantitative, 167 verbal, 5.5 writing.