Contact POI

DeleteMePlease

Hey All,

does it make sense to contact the Person of Interest. I want to know in particular wheter they are looking for new grad students. However, I don't know how to approach the person. Is a short mail enough? Or should I send a CV? 

Thanks!

Depends on your field (for example, business pHD programs normally discourage students from contacting POIs), but unless the school specifically mentions this on the website, I think contacting POIs is usually very beneficial.

You can attach a CV, but draft your mail assuming the POI will not open it, i.e. mention any critical (and impressive) information in the text of the mail itself. Short mail...too long and they might lose interest. Capture why you are interested in them (demonstrating you are familiar with their work), check if they are accepting students, and finish with a short profile that highlights your strengths.

Hope this helps!

As a CS student, I would highly recommend that you introduce yourself. At worst, it does nothing for or against you. At best, it shows you are a proactive and dedicated applicant. I've heard of some people attaching a CV or talking about their credentials, but I didn't end up doing this. I think the purpose of your emails should be to introduce yourself to your future advisor and make sure you're a good fit, not try to gain an advantage over other students or convince the POI that you should be admitted. 

Format of my letters:

Introduce self, where I'm from, what I'm applying for

My interests, the POI's interests, and why I want to work with the POI (list particular projects or labs)

Will the POI be accepting students, and if so, for what projects?

Express interest again, and ask if they recommend that I read a particular publication from POI's lab