gre scores- advice needed

sweetfarthing

in math I am in 74th percentile and in writing I am 73 percentile. In verbal, I am on 53 percentile. I don't know if this is troubling...should I take the gre again? i had done so much practice for a month before the exam and i don't know what else to do. i dont have time to take a class for the gre because now i am planning to study for the chem subject gre. 

I want to study organic chem and am planning to apply to wisconsin, michigan, emory, illinois, berkely, princeton, and harvard (and am aware the last two might be really tough) in fall 2013. my cumlative gpa is 3.8 and chem gpa is 3.9-4.0 and i have had 2 years of research experience and i think i will also be able to have at least 1 publication (although not first author) by the time i graduate. 

besides the gre, any other advice would be really helpful. thank you!

Edited by sweetfarthing

I want to say those GRE scores are probably okay, you'd probably want around 80-85% in quant, and verbal/writing I'm not sure if they're really going to care nearly at all as long as you meet any minimums the school puts on applications.

You have a great amount of research (and you hopefully can get a good LOR from your advisor) and a good GPA, and a publication looks great. In my opinion, you would do better to put that time into studying for the chem GRE. 

Personally, I don't think it's necessary! Good luck! :)

Welcome to the forum!

Last year I spoke with chemistry professors on the admissions committee of one of those schools you mentioned are tough to get into. Here is what they said:

1. Don't worry too much about the GRE because they don't see it as an accurate measure for how well one will do in grad school (especially the chem GRE). They just don't want to see red flags (super bad scores).