Chances of getting into a grad school in the US or Canada?

Mure

Hello,

Perhaps many people have asked this question but I just wanted to know the possibility of getting into a grad school with a relatively low GPA. 

Here are my stats: 

-BSc in Material Chemistry, GPA = 2.6 

-1 Publication on MRS Journal (2nd author) 

-1 publication on chemistry education (4th author out of 12) 

-4 conference presentations

-2 years as a research assistant in chem and biochem lab (plus a term intern at an Analytics company)

-volunteered 2 years in hospital, student clubs, 

-4 years high school chem and math tutor

-8 months volunteering in a refugee camp

My experience is in metal nanoparticles and nanocomposites. I have a deep interest of doing research in nanomedicine, nanomaterials, and nanotechnology in general. 

Job Opportunities

I heard from many people (or read) that jobs in the chemistry field are merged in engineering and medical professions. Since I graduated, I had difficult time finding a job in chemistry and perhaps similar stories could be true for MS. I am not aware about the US but it is really hard to find a job with a BSc in Chemistry in Canada. I could be wrong since I haven't moved to Alberta yet but I can tell you that Ontario and BC have little to offer. 

Plan B

In case if grad school doesn't work, I am thinking of joining the medical profession and getting a diploma in MRI or Radiology. 

Also, material chemistry is a multidisciplinary program and requires the application of engineering and physics. I was thinking of upgrading my degree to chemical/material engineering but that again would require a couple more years. I can use those years to get a diploma in Radiology and earn 60+k/year.

I would really appreciate if you guys can contribute your thoughts and suggestions, and advice on the direction forward in terms of career, jobs and marketability and stability of a profession.   

Thanks in advance. 

Mure